Comparisons10 min read

Paperless Post vs Greenvelope vs Evite for Weddings (2026)

Three US invitation sites compared for a wedding: how each charges, what 50, 150 and 250 guests cost, RSVP tools, design, languages and music, every fact sourced.

By Published Updated

Chapitre · A green morocco book, printed for your guestsSee Chapitre
Contents
  1. Paperless Post vs Greenvelope vs Evite: the short answer
  2. How Paperless Post, Greenvelope and Evite charge
  3. Cost at 50, 150 and 250 guests
  4. RSVP and guest tools
  5. Design and animation
  6. Languages and international guests
  7. Music, domains and extras
  8. Who each is best for
  9. Paperless Post alternatives for weddings: when none of the three fits
  10. Sources
  11. Frequently asked questions

Paperless Post vs Greenvelope comes down to how you pay and how much RSVP you need. Paperless Post charges per recipient, from $0.50 to $1.44 on paid designs at 50 guests and less per guest on longer lists, and carries designer-name collections; Greenvelope charges once per mailing by list size, $159 for up to 160 guests, with deeper wedding RSVP tools. Evite is the low-cost third: $99.99 covers up to 750 guests.

We make Veiloria, a studio that designs invitations by hand, so read this knowing our bias; every fact below comes from each service's own pages, checked 19 October 2026. For the wider field, free tools and studios included, see the best digital wedding invitation sites.

Paperless Post vs Greenvelope vs Evite: the short answer

Choose Greenvelope for the RSVP, Paperless Post for the stationery names, and Evite for the lowest flat price on a long list. All three are self-service: you pick a design, write the wording, add your guests and send it yourself by email, text or link.

Paperless PostGreenvelopeEvite
How you payPer recipient, in Coins, or a yearly subscriptionOnce per mailing, by guest-count tier, or a yearly membershipOnce per event, by guest-cap package, or yearly Pro
One invitation, 150 guests$120 (Premium)$159$99.99 (Diamond)
Strongest atDesigner collections; one invitation that holds schedule, travel and registryRSVP depth: meals, households, seating, remindersPrice at volume, a name guests know
OpeningEnvelope, liner and stamp; animation not describedAnimated envelope at every price"Animated effects and reveals" on Premium
MusicNot statedYes, your own MP3 tooNot stated
Guest-page languagesNot statedEnglish, Spanish, German, French, DutchNot stated
AdsNot statedNone, for hosts or guestsOn free invitations; Premium removes them

"Not stated" means not on the company's own pages, not that it's missing.

How Paperless Post, Greenvelope and Evite charge

A digital wedding invitation service charges per recipient, per mailing by list size, or by subscription. These three use all three models, so their prices only compare at a given guest count.

  • Paperless Post prices each design in Coins per recipient. Its pricing page lists Free at $0, Basic at $0.50, Premium at $1.05 and All Access at $1.44 per guest for 50 guests, and its calculator charges less per guest as the list grows; the first 50 invitations sent directly on the free designs and features cost nothing. Paperless Pro is $250 a year for 250 guests, and $150 more for 500.
  • Greenvelope sells a Single Mailing priced by guest-count tier: $19 for up to 20 guests, then 20-guest steps to $199 for 200, $249 for 250 and $374 for 500. An optional Annual Membership covers a year of mailings, each for a different purpose: $125 (up to 50 guests per mailing), $225 (150) or $375 (250).
  • Evite sells one package per event by guest cap: Silver $17.99 (12 guests), Gold $36.99 (30), Platinum $68.99 (75) and Diamond $99.99 (750). Evite Pro is $249.99 a year for unlimited invitations of up to 2,500 guests each. Free invitations carry ads.

Who counts as a guest

How each counts changes the bill more than the rate. Paperless Post counts recipients, and a couple or family can share one invitation; Greenvelope counts every person, household members included; Evite doesn't state how a family sharing one email counts. Our guide to wedding invitation cost per guest works through that arithmetic at every list size.

Cost at 50, 150 and 250 guests

At 150 guests, one invitation costs $99.99 on Evite, $120 on Paperless Post Premium and $159 on Greenvelope; at 50 guests, Paperless Post's free designs cost nothing. These are list prices and calculator quotes on 19 October 2026, with every guest counted as one recipient.

One invitation50 guests150 guests250 guests
Paperless Post Free$0 (first 50)Not stated past 50Not stated past 50
Paperless Post Basic$25$57$85
Paperless Post Premium$52.50$120$175
Paperless Post All Access$72$168$280
Paperless Pro, 250 guests a year$250/yr$250/yr$250/yr
Greenvelope Single Mailing$59 (up to 60)$159 (up to 160)$249 (up to 250)
Evite Premium package$68.99 (Platinum)$99.99 (Diamond)$99.99 (Diamond)
Evite free$0, with ads$0, with ads$0, with ads

Paperless Post's figures are its calculator's totals, which discount as the list grows, so don't multiply the 50-guest rate. Greenvelope's $159 is the up-to-160 tier in its pricing calculator.

With a save the date

A save the date is a second send on all three, so a wedding usually pays twice.

Save the date + invitation50 guests150 guests250 guests
Paperless Post Premium, both cards$105$240$350
Paperless Pro$250/yr (100 guest sends)$400/yr (500-guest tier)$400/yr (500-guest tier)
Greenvelope, lower option$118 (two mailings)$225 (membership)$375 (membership)
Evite, two Premium packages$137.98$199.98$199.98

At 150 guests, Pro costs more than two Premium sends. Evite also has free save the date designs, with ads. For the whole budget, paper and studios included, see how much digital wedding invitations cost.

RSVP and guest tools

Greenvelope has the most wedding-ready RSVP of the three: meal choices, plus-ones by policy, custom questions, households, seating charts and reminders that go only to guests who haven't replied. Paperless Post covers the essentials; Evite keeps it simple.

Paperless PostGreenvelopeEvite
Meal or dietary questionsGuest Questions (Premium): meal preferences, mailing addresses, short answersMeal choices, plus custom questions in 4 formatsNot stated
Plus-onesNot stated; one group member can reply for allBy your plus-one policy, with an "and Guest" lineOne limit for the whole list, up to +9
Adults and childrenSeparate headcountsNot stated separately; a custom question can askSeparate adult and child counts
Reply-by dateYesYesYes, a Premium feature
RemindersPrivate or broadcast messages you writeAutomatic, only to non-responders, schedulableAutomatic, up to 5, wording not customizable
Text deliveryYesSupported countries; 500 texts per paid accountU.S. and Canada numbers only

Two Evite details matter at a wedding: separate replies for each member of a household sharing one email are "coming soon", per its help center, and reminders go to everyone who hasn't declined, including guests who said yes. Greenvelope adds a seating chart and CSV export.

Expect most of the list to answer: across 70,624 events it hosted from July 2025 to June 2026, Greenvelope measured a median wedding response rate of 88.9% (its RSVP benchmarks report).

Design and animation

Paperless Post has the best-known designer names, Greenvelope animates the envelope at every price, and Evite keeps animation for Premium. None of the three designs the invitation for you.

  • Paperless Post carries collections from Oscar de la Renta, Monique Lhuillier, Rifle Paper Co., Stephanie Fishwick, Crane & Co. and kate spade new york. Premium adds envelopes, backdrops, page styles and Blocks for photos, video, travel and accommodations. Its pages don't describe an animation.
  • Greenvelope draws on more than 150 independent designers, with no AI-generated artwork. Every invitation arrives in an animated envelope addressed to the guest by name, with an optional wax seal; a designer color change costs extra on many designs.
  • Evite Premium adds "animated effects and reveals", envelopes, stamps and stickers, exclusive designs and double-sided invitations.

All three accept your own artwork; on Evite, an upload is a Premium design and every word must be baked into the JPG or PNG. If you're weighing a Canva design against one made for you, read Canva vs custom digital wedding invitations.

Languages and international guests

Greenvelope is the only one of the three that lists guest-page languages: English, Spanish, German, French and Dutch. Paperless Post and Evite don't state invitation languages on the pages we checked. On all three, the card says whatever you write, in any language.

Delivery matters too: Evite texts only U.S. and Canadian numbers. Email and a shareable link reach everyone, WhatsApp included.

To send a bilingual invitation on any of the three:

  1. Write both languages on the card, side by side or stacked, each block short.
  2. Label every RSVP question in both languages on one line: "Meal / Menú".
  3. Add the time zone after the time when guests fly in.
  4. On Greenvelope, preview the guest pages in each language before sending.

Layouts are in our guide to bilingual wedding invitations.

Music, domains and extras

Greenvelope includes background music, your own MP3 too; Paperless Post offers a Custom URL; Evite states neither.

Paperless PostGreenvelopeEvite
MusicNot statedYes, at every priceNot stated
Custom linkCustom URLNot statedNot stated
Save the dateYes, can request mailing addressesYes, can collect mailing addressesYes, free and Premium designs
Wedding websiteBlocks hold schedule, travel and registry, or link yoursDoesn't build one; link yoursLink yours

Who each is best for

Paperless Post suits couples who want a recognizable stationery name, Greenvelope couples who want the RSVP to run the guest list, and Evite couples watching cost on a long list.

Paperless Post: designer stationery, sent online

Best for a small list, since the first 50 invitations on free designs cost nothing, or for one sent per household. Its Blocks let one invitation carry the weekend's schedule, travel and registry.

Greenvelope: RSVP depth

Meal choices, households, seating, reminders and five guest-page languages at every price. Pick it if your caterer needs clean numbers.

Evite: the lowest price on a long list

$99.99 covers up to 750 guests. One plus-one limit for all and fixed reminder wording suit a relaxed wedding better than a plated dinner.

Paperless Post alternatives for weddings: when none of the three fits

All three are self-service, which suits most couples, but not those who want the invitation made for them, guests in several languages, or one price however long the list.

A design studio is a different category. At Veiloria, a designer makes your invitation by hand, from one of 43 designs, each with its own animated opening, or from a blank page on Bespoke, for one price per wedding: $199, $599 or $999 (or the equivalent in your currency), with unlimited guests and sends. The RSVP inside asks each guest's name, dietary needs, children and a song, and each guest reads it in their own language: 2, up to 3 or as many languages as you need, by plan. Compare Veiloria's plans and prices. For a like-for-like look at two studios, read Veiloria vs The Digital Yes.

Sources

All checked on 19 October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, Paperless Post or Greenvelope?

Greenvelope if the RSVP matters most; Paperless Post if the design name matters most. Greenvelope includes meal choices, seating charts, reminders, music and five guest-page languages at every price. Paperless Post brings names such as Oscar de la Renta, and costs less sent one per household.

Is Paperless Post good for wedding invitations?

Yes, for couples who want designer stationery and a straightforward RSVP. Premium, $120 for 150 recipients on its calculator (19 October 2026), adds envelopes, Guest Questions for meal preferences and addresses, and Blocks for travel and accommodations. It doesn't state music or invitation languages, so ask if either matters to you.

Is Greenvelope worth it?

For a wedding with a seated meal, usually yes: about a dollar a guest buys the fullest RSVP of the three, an animated envelope and music. At 150 guests that's $159, or $225 a year with the save the date. For yes-or-no replies only, Evite costs less.

Which is better, Evite or Paperless Post?

For most weddings, Paperless Post, because it asks guest questions such as meal preferences and holds the weekend's details in one invitation. Against Paperless Post Premium, Evite's $99.99 Diamond package, for up to 750 guests, costs more at 100 recipients ($85 on Premium) and less at 150 ($120). Choose Evite when price and familiarity matter more than detail.

Is there something better than Paperless Post?

It depends on what you want more of. For RSVP tools, Greenvelope; for the lowest flat price, Evite; for an invitation designed for you, in your languages, at one price per wedding, a studio such as Veiloria. Our guide to the best digital wedding invitation sites compares more options.

Do Paperless Post and Greenvelope charge per guest?

Paperless Post does; Greenvelope charges per mailing. Paperless Post charges per recipient on paid designs, $0.50 to $1.44 at 50 guests and less per guest on longer lists; Greenvelope prices one send by guest-count tier, such as $159 for up to 160 guests. Both offer yearly plans.

From the atelier

Every love story deserves a first page.

Choose a design, tell us about your day, and your designer makes it yours by hand. One payment, unlimited guests, replies built in.

Letters from the atelier

Letters to help you plan your invitation

Wording ideas, timelines and the etiquette of digital invitations, written by our designers. A short welcome series, then roughly one letter a month. Unsubscribe whenever you like.